U.S. Advisors

The Great Lakes Fisheries Act of 1956 authorized the appointment of advisors to the U.S. Section of the commission "to examine and be heard on all proposed recommendations, programs, and activities relating to [the lake they represent]." The U.S. Section appoints advisors from each lake from a list provided by the Great Lakes state governors. Consideration is given to interests of state agencies, the commercial fish industry, sport fishermen, and the public-at-large.

United States Advisors Terms of Reference

Canadian Advisors

The Great Lakes Fishery Commission appoints a Canadian committee of advisors, made up of key stakeholders and leaders in the region. The advisors examine and are heard on issues of importance to the Great Lakes fishery and ecosystem. They assist the commissioners in making informed decisions in support of Commission objectives.

Canadian Advisors Terms of Reference

Members (United States)

  • Dennis Grinold, Chair
  • Don Arcuri, Vice Chair, Lower Lakes
  • Paul Jensen, Vice Chair, Upper Lakes
  • Peter Alex
  • Charles Blaas
  • Brian Breidert
  • Jim Dexter
  • Don Einhouse
  • Michael Estes
  • William Fetzer **
  • Todd Grischke **
  • Thomas Gulash
  • Charles Haslerud
  • Justine Hasz
  • Matthew Hehn
  • Steve Hewett
  • Dennis Hickey
  • Al House
  • Steve LaPan
  • Thomas Lauer
  • Dan Makauskas **
  • Mike Matta
  • Ken Merckel
  • Andy Mikos *
  • Ashley Moerke
  • Jennifer Nalbone
  • Eric Obert
  • Judy Ogden
  • Don Pereira
  • Charles Pistis
  • Bruce Prentice
  • Jeremy Price **
  • Michael Ptak
  • Michael Ryan
  • Vic Santucci
  • Phil Schneeberger
  • Titus Seilheimer
  • Stuart Sivertson
  • Holly Szuch
  • Danny Tanner
  • Missy Treml
  • Tom Trudeau
  • Jay Wesley **
  • Ralph Wilcox
  • Tod Williams

The Great Lakes Fishery Commission and secretariat mourn the passing of US Advisor Emeritus Dick Reuss, who died November 29, 2018. (Chicago Tribute obituary)

Members (Canada)

  • Tom Whillans, Chair
  • John Jackson, Vice Chair
  • John Casselman, Secretary
  • Gary Bowen
  • David Browne
  • Matt DeMille
  • Jane Graham
  • Jon Paterson
  • George Purvis
  • Deborah (Debbie) Rivard

*Designate       **Alternate      

Press Releases

Archived releases can be accessed through the Publication Search.


Archived resolutions can be accessed through the Publication Search.

Key Documents